Book Description

Rabies kills. Can it also cure?


Dr. Tessa Price knows what it's like to lose a child to a genetic disease. To spare another mother this pain, she invents a radical new gene therapy that might save the life of seven-year-old Gunnar Sigrunsson. Unable to get regulatory approval to treat Gunnar in the US, she takes her clinical trial to the Palacio Centro Medico, a resort-like hospital on a Mexican peninsula where rich medical tourists get experimental treatments that aren't available anywhere else.


When the hospital is taken over by a brutal drug cartel, Tessa hides with a remarkable trio of Palacio clients--rich Texan Lyle Simmons, his much-younger Brazilian girlfriend, and his protection dog, a German shepherd named Dixie--only to learn that the gangsters aren't the only deadly threat they face. A rabies-like infection that began in the Palacio's research chimpanzees has spread to humans. Tessa investigates and finds a shocking connection to her gene therapy experiment. In the wake of this discovery, Tessa must weigh the value of one human life against another--including her own.


"A smart, tightly written, scary science thriller." --Kirkus Reviews


"Rogers artfully blends science and suspense in this top-notch thriller. Fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook novels will love this book." - Brian Andrews, author of The Calypso Directive


"Reversion has everything I love about science thrillers: an exotic setting, a brilliant protagonist, a terrifying villain, and a story that takes readers on a wild ride across the frontiers of science. It's a fun, frightening and memorable novel." --Mark Alpert, author of Extinction

Book Details
List Price: $3.99
Print Length: 370 Pages
Publisher: ScienceThrillers Media
Publication Date: March 2, 2017
Language: English
ISBN: 9781940419022

Other Books by Amy Rogers

Available from
Amazon
Petroplague
Reversion
The Han Agent

About the author

Amy Rogers
Northern California

Amy Rogers, MD, PhD, is a Harvard-educated scientist, educator, author, and critic who switched from teaching university biology classes to writing science-themed thriller fiction. Her novels Petroplague, Reversion, and The Han Agent use real science and medicine to create plausible, frightening scenarios in the style of Michael Crichton. She lives in Northern California where she also runs the ScienceThrillers website and writes a "Science in the Neighborhood" column for a local newspaper. @ScienceThriller AmyRogers.com